E-mail: info@teachingandlearningtoolbox.com

About Us

About Us

Our Mission

Welcome to the Teaching and Learning Toolbox. Our mission is to provide you with proven technology resources as well as regular tips and tricks that can simplify incorporating technology into your courses. From hardware, software, apps to pedagogy, we hope this website will become your teaching and learning resource center. Enjoy your visit and we look forward to you becoming a member of our teaching and learning community.

The Teaching and Learning Toolbox Team

Markus Ahrens

Markus Ahrens joined the Accounting & Legal Studies Department at St. Louis Community College-Meramec in 2001 and currently serves as the Department Chair. Prior to his teaching career, he worked as an accountant for 15 years. Since 2006, Markus has taught as an adjunct professor in the Master of Health Administration Program at St. Louis University. In addition, Markus is a licensed Certified Public Accountant and a Chartered Global Management Accountant.

Markus is active in service learning and served as a Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Site Coordinator for eight years. His primary research interests are experiential learning in accounting education and student engagement utilizing technology. Also, Markus co-founded TeachingandLearningToolbox.com, a free website dedicated to providing educators with up-to-date teaching and learning resources “where technology connects with pedagogy to raise the learning bar.” Markus has given over 100 academic presentations, mostly related to student engagement techniques. In addition, Markus has conducted faculty professional development workshops throughout the United States and in London.

Markus has received national awards for his teaching and his innovation in the classroom, including most recently, the 2017 Educator of the Year Award from the American Accounting Association Two-Year College Section. In addition, Markus is the proud recipient of the 2016 American Accounting Association / J. Michael and Mary Anne Cook / Deloitte Foundation Prize. The Cook Prize is the foremost recognition of an individual who consistently demonstrates the attributes of a superior teacher in the discipline of accounting. Markus has also received the AICPA Bea Sanders Innovation Award in Teaching Introductory Accounting Courses and the Innovation of the Year awarded by the League for Innovation.

Currently, Markus serves on the Board of Directors for the Missouri Society of Certified Public Accountants (MOCPA), is the Chair for the MOCPA Education Foundation Board and is a past Trustee for the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Foundation Board. In addition, Markus is the 2017-2018 Council Chair for the American Accounting Association. Markus served as the 2014-2016 President for the Two-Year Section of the American Accounting Association and is the past-chair for the Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting. Furthermore, Markus is a past member of the AICPA Pre-Certification Education Executive Committee. In 2010, Markus served as president for the Missouri Association of Accounting Educators.  Markus is a member of the Teachers of Accounting at Two-Year Colleges, Institute of Management Accountants and the Association of Experiential Education organizations.

Cathy Scott

Cathy Scott is currently a Professor of Accounting and the Accounting Program Department Chair at Navarro College. After eleven years working with community college students, she will be moving to the University of North Texas – Dallas (Fall 2018) as an Associate Professor of Business Accounting. Additionally, Cathy teaches Automotive Dealership Management courses at the University of North Texas – Dallas and Jilin University/Lambton College, Changchun, China. Cathy made a career shift into academics after a 25-year accounting, consulting and training career within the automotive and RV industries.

Cathy has spoken on numerous occasions about effectively using technology in the classroom, improving online education and engaging students with activity learning. She is also the author on a College Accounting textbook with a career focused approach, and the co-founder of the TeachingAndLearningToolbox.com; a free website and blog that links technology to pedagogy as well as provides tips to successfully incorporate technology into courses. Cathy is still actively connected to the automotive industry where she has been a popular speaker for Automotive and RV manufacturers as well as dealer associations. She has also written several articles for automotive publications.

Cathy has been recognized on numerous occasions for teaching excellence. She is the proud recipient of the American Accounting Association/J. Michael and Mary Anne Cook/Deloitte Foundation Prize for Two-Year Accounting Degree Programs, the Texas Business and Technology Educators Association (TBTEA) Post-Secondary Educator of the Year, the Texas Society of CPA’s (TSCPA) Outstanding Accounting Educator Award, the American Accounting Association’s Two-Year College Educator of the Year Award, and the Navarro College Teaching of Excellence Award. She has also received recognition for her involvement in various professional and community service organizations, including the Rotaract Founder’s Award, the Lion’s Club Humanitarian Award, the Ford Motor Company Business Management Outstanding Achievement Award and the Ford Motor Company Accountants Honor Roll. Cathy currently serves as the American Accounting Association (AAA) Two-Year College Vice President and Council Member. She is also a board member for the Teachers of Accounting at Two-Year Colleges (TACTYC), the Chair for the 2018 AAA Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Mid-Year Meeting Colloquium, and the President of the Texas Business and Technology Educators Association. Cathy is also a member of the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), the Texas Society of CPAs (TSCPA), the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE), the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA), and the Academy of Management (AOM).